Brett & Amanda

First Names Only:
Brett and Amanda

Why we want to be parents:
Being parents has been an unbelievably rewarding journey. There is truly nothing we love more than being parents. We gain pure joy in watching our son grow, learn, and become an independent and empathetic person. Through adoption, we are driven to create the same opportunities for growth to our new son/daughter and are looking forward to witnessing the sibling bond form with their brother. We are excited to discover their likes/dislikes, personality quirks and everything that makes them..them! We believe they are the missing puzzle piece that will complete our family.

What activities we look forward to doing with a child:
We are looking forward to witnessing a child explore the world and discover new things for the first time. Seeing the world through a child’s eyes gives a renewed appreciation for the little things in life. Every new discovery is an exciting one. We look forward to taking a family vacation every year, exposing them to whatever activities might interest them/exploring their interests (sports, music, art, etc), and also everyday activities (such as reading books before bed, going for walks, playing games, etc).

The people/pets who make up our family:
Our immediate family includes our 4 year old son, Daxton and our dog, Fiona. We are very close to both of our parents, Amanda’s nana, as well as Brett’s brother, wife and his three children and each of our extended families.

Our ethnic/cultural background:
Brett is German and French Canadian.  Amanda is Irish, Scottish, and Polish.

Family celebrations that are important to us:
Every holiday, birthday, anniversary and all achievements/accomplishment are important to us. We embrace any reason to celebrate with the family!

Any religious identification:

Fun activities we like to do:
We like to go for walks around the neighborhood or hikes at the state park, spend time at the petting farm or zoo, go on family vacations or camping, attend concerts and sporting events (especially if family is playing).

Where we live (city, rural, community):
We live in a family friendly suburban neighborhood in southeast Michigan. Our community has a highly rated school district, numerous parks, and a small downtown area (with restaurants, boutiques, and coffee shops) where various activities/festivals take place. Live music, ice sculpture festivals, art in the park, and tree lighting are some examples.

A few fun facts about each of us:
We met Ben Stiller (twice!) on our honeymoon in Hawaii. Brett caught a home run ball hit by Magglio Ordóñez. Amanda has begun writing a novel and plans to publish one day. Brett worked as a baseball umpire and basketball referee while in college. Amanda went from working in the hospital as a RN, to home care contingently, so she could be at home with her son. She plans to continue this until both her son and next child are in school full time.

One thing we would like the birth family to know about us/why we would be good parents:
We feel the birth family is a very important piece of their child’s story. We will make sure to have open communication about the birth family we well as their background throughout their life and will respect whatever level of openness the birth mother is comfortable with. As their parents, we promise to give endless love and support, to celebrate their milestones and individualism, and to provide a safe home free of judgment, full of laughter and affection.

Families Looking to Adopt

View All