Tom & Holly

**Read Tom & Holly’s Adoption Profile Book here.

How we parent and why we’re adopting again:

We believe children deserve the same level of respect as any other person. We adopted our son, Gabriel, in 2015 and as he’s gotten older, we’ve encouraged him to voice his opinions and work through his feelings with compassion and support from us. We like to think this approach has helped him develop into a confident, joyful, nurturing little kid who treats others with the same kindness and patience we try to show him at home. He is extremely excited to become a big brother and to help take care of his baby brother or sister. Tom and I agree there’s plenty of room in our house and hearts for another child.

What activities we look forward to doing with our children:

When our baby is still small, we look forward to going on walks with them snuggled in a baby carrier or stroller, tickling their toes, and watching their little personality begin to bloom. As they get older, we look forward to taking them to nearby parks, watching their face as they try ice cream for the first time, and dipping their toes in the cool water in our pool. We can’t wait to hear them laugh for the first time, probably after Gabriel has said or done something silly for them. Much of our lives revolve around family, so we’re looking forward to surrounding this child with all the love our families have to give.

The people/pets who make up our family:

Tom, Gabriel and I live within a few miles of several close relatives on both sides of the family. Less than one mile away, my parents live with my younger brother. My younger sister lives with her husband in Virginia. Aside from my sister and one much loved aunt and her daughter in Arkansas, the rest of my extended family – grandmother, aunts, uncles, and cousins, all live nearby. Tom has immediate and extended family in the area, too, including a younger brother and his family, another younger brother, aunts, and dozens of cousins. Tom also has two sisters in Virginia – one older and one younger – living not far from my where my own sister lives.

Our ethnic/cultural background:

Tom, Gabriel, and I are Caucasian. Tom’s family has Irish roots and Holly’s family comes from Poland. In Holly’s family, special Polish recipes have been passed down through the generations, including pierogi and potato pancakes.

Family celebrations that are important to us:

We celebrate Easter and Christmas, the Fourth of July, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and New Year’s. Most holidays are spent with family, either hosting or visiting, usually alternating holidays with both sides of the family. We also celebrate birthdays, of course – Tom, Gabriel, and I all have birthdays in May. Our most special annual celebration, though, is Gabriel’s Gotcha Day, which we treat as another “birthday” of sorts, with family time, a special dinner, cake, and a few gifts.

Any religious identification:

We are Catholic, like our families, and Gabriel attends a local Catholic school.

Fun activities we like to do:

In the warmer months, we spend a lot of time outside, enjoying the patio, garden, swing set, and pool in our backyard. We go on long walks to the various parks nearby, often meeting up with neighborhood friends for spontaneous playdates. We love to grill and have family and friends over for dinner. Tom loves to fish, so whenever we get the opportunity, we like to explore the area to find new fishing spots. Both sides of our family have cabins Up North, so we spend much of the summer swimming in the Great Lakes, making s’mores over bonfires, and enjoying family time away from work and other responsibilities. In cold weather months, we like to play and go sledding in the snow, play games, watch movies together, and go out to eat as a family.

Where we live:

We live in a three bedroom, two bathroom ranch-style home in suburban in metro Detroit, in a tree-lined neighborhood with large lots and homes set back from the street. We’re surrounded by parks, so when the weather is nice and we pull out Gabriel’s bicycle or scooter, he points the way and leads us to whichever playground we’ll be visiting that day. We live near a nature center with plenty of trails to explore. The downtown area is full of a variety of restaurants, including Gabriel’s: sushi!

A few fun facts about each of us:

Tom is an excellent cook and it’s not uncommon to find him studying videos and recipes online in preparation to make a delicious new dish. He loves history, fishing, and football – especially the University of Michigan.

I (Holly) love to laugh at silly jokes and am happiest when spending time with family. I like to chronicle our adventures with pictures (I used to study photography) and love to share with family and friends all the hilarious things that Gabriel says.

Gabriel is energetic, kind, hilarious, and very smart. His favorite activities include swimming, watching TV, going on bike rides, and playing with his parents and friends. He is a proud kindergarten graduate, ready to take on first grade!

One thing we would like the birth family to know about us/why we would be good parents:

We celebrate adoption. In the best of cases, it brings two or more families together, united in the love they share for their child or children. We adopted Gabriel in 2015, two years after we were married. We unfortunately never knew his birth family, but we’ve remained close to his wonderful foster family. It is important to us that Gabriel has links to the people who loved him before we knew him. We hope to provide our second child with the same connections to his or her past.

Learn More About Domestic Adoption

Read More