Dan & Bessie

Why we want to be parents:

We have loved watching our daughter Ruth (4 years old) through all the stages of life so far. It’s amazing to see how she grows and changes so quickly! Dan has one brother and they are the very best of friends; Bessie is the youngest of 5 siblings, all of whom live out of state but that she is close to. We both love the adult relationships we have with our siblings and want our daughter to experience this beautiful part of life, too.

What activities we look forward to doing with a child:

We have loved sharing our favorite activities with our daughter – camping, visiting new towns, snowboarding/skiing, and we are looking forward to the day that she gets to share her favorite activities with her sibling!

The people/pets who make up our family:

Dan is a full-time musician and stays home with Ruth 3 days a week. Bessie is a special education teacher and gets to enjoy being home with Ruth in the summers. Ruth is in pre-K and is patiently waiting to be a big sister. Molly is our 10 year old English pointer/hound rescue dog.

Our ethnic/cultural background:

Dan’s family is primarily Polish and Irish, Bessie’s is made up of many different backgrounds including Hungarian and English.

Family celebrations that are important to us:

Any holiday centered around good food and family is for us! We love watching Ruth experience Halloween and we Trick-or-Treat with Dan’s family every year so we can celebrate one of the nephew’s birthdays at the same time! We also celebrate a Friendsgiving each year, as we’ve been doing for 10+ years, and it’s beautiful to see the group growing each year with the new babies who join their families!

Any religious identification:

Dan was raised Catholic. The faith and the church were a very integral part of his upbringing,  family life, and social life as a child.  We regularly attend a non-denominational church where Ruth has a separate children’s Sunday School to look forward to each week.

Fun activities we like to do:

We love being outside and with Bessie having summers off, we take advantage of going camping, hiking, riding bikes, and visiting new areas. We love to bring Molly along, she’s always happiest in the woods!

Where we live (city, rural, community):

We live in a medium-sized community in southeastern Michigan. We have many parks and wooded areas near us to explore and we love being close to a downtown area where we have a favorite local ice cream shop and farmer’s market to enjoy. The elementary school is less than half a block away, and we have enjoyed getting to know our neighbors over the past five years we’ve lived in our home.

A few fun facts about each of us:

Dan plays guitar and sings with a band that plays all over Michigan and in the summer we enjoy traveling to see him play often! Bessie and Ruth can always be found on the dance floor. Dan and Bessie have gone skydiving, visited Mexico, traveled across the entire US, camped the Redwoods in California and been to New York City. Ruth enjoys anything that has to do with music and loves performing with her dad at his gigs!

One thing we would like the birth family to know about us/why we would be good parents:

We feel very blessed to have been able to have a child naturally, but since we had Ruth we’ve experienced unexplained secondary infertility. The doctors don’t know why we can’t conceive again but we know that we have so much more love to give and we are waiting for another child to join our family.  We aren’t perfect but we communicate constantly and do our best to always support one another. We are teaching Ruth to care about others, always ask for help if she needs it, and to communicate her needs. We are supportive of an open adoption plan and we will always make sure our child knows where he/she comes from and we will answer openly and honestly all questions. We know that a child cannot have too much love in his/her life and we hope to be able to build lasting relationships with all family members who are involved.

Families Looking to Adopt

View All